Skip to the content

Extension of the Support for Trade Promotion & Marketing Scheme (TPMS) for Exports to Africa, Australia, Canada, Europe, Japan, Middle East Countries, and United States of America (USA)

The Support for Trade Promotion & Marketing Scheme (TPMS) is in operation since 1st April 2017 and it is funded by the Ministry of Finance, Economic Planning and Development. The scheme is implemented and managed by the Economic Development Board (EDB) Mauritius. Exporters are refunded 40% on basic Air Freight costs (All-in prices) as per the Terms & Conditions.

Budget measures 2020-2021

As per Budget 2020-2021, the TPMS has been extended for 2 years up to June 2022 for exports to existing and additional markets as announced on 13th March 2020 under COVID-19- “Plan de Soutien aux Entreprises”. The eligible markets and effective date for exports is 1st July 2020 to 30th June 2022.

The eligible markets are:

1. Africa (including Madagascar)
2. Australia
3. Canada
4. Europe
5. Japan
6. Middle East Countries
7. USA

1.0 Objective

The objective of the scheme is to give a boost and to support manufacturing companies in their quest to penetrate the eligible markets faster by making use of air shipment and hence, to enhance product delivery in terms of Speed-to-Market and increase competitiveness of local manufacturing products.  

2.0 Main Provisions

  • The scheme will apply to manufacturing companies only and exporting under the relevant Certificate of Origin.
  • All products manufactured in Mauritius are eligible for all destinations falling under the TPMS as from 1st July 2020 except machinery, live animals, and chemicals.

  • A maximum limit of Rs30 Million per company for exports over a 12-month period will be applied under the TPMS consisting of the following capping:
    • Rs10 Million to Europe
    • Rs10 Million to USA; and
    • Rs10 Million to destination regrouping Africa (including Madagascar), Australia, Canada, Japan, and Middle East
  • A 40% refund basis on Air Freight Costs (All-in Prices)
  • Time-bound for 2 years

3.0 Amount of Rebate

40% of Air Freight Cost (All-in-prices) only including Fuel Surcharge and Security Surcharge. Except for vegetables, fruits, flowers where payment will be equally shared between the Planter (20%) and the Exporter (20%)

4.0 Application for Rebate

4.1 Company Registration

 Companies must register themselves once by filling the REGISTRATION FORM and send to EDB for validation and approval.

4.2 Claim for refund

Application for refund has to be submitted in the Prescribed CLAIM FORM to the Economic Development Board Mauritius, 10th Floor, One Cathedral Square Building, 16 Jules Koenig Street, Port Louis together with copy of the following supporting documents:

  1. Air Waybill (AWB) or House Air Waybill (HAWB)
  2. Commercial Invoice
  3. MRA Customs Declaration Form
  4. Certified VAT Invoice from Freight Forwarding Agent/Courier Service (with costs breakdown of freight components)
  5. Receipt of payment from Freight Forwarding Agent/Courier Service
  6. Certificate of Origin (for Exports under EPA, EUR1, AGOA or GSP)
  7. Gate Pass/Memorandum

*Registration Form and Claim Form can be downloaded from the website of the Economic Development Board Mauritius:

4.3 Registration and Claim Forms for exports of Flowers, Fruits, and Vegetables to be submitted to Agricultural Marketing Board, Tel- 4334025, Website:



The Economic Development Board (EDB) Mauritius reserves the right to exercise control post disbursement of fund and in case any fraudulent declaration is detected the following may apply:

1) The company will not be eligible for any future rebate, and

2) Legal action will be undertaken to recover the amount refunded and may be also liable to prosecution.

For any additional details you may contact Mr
Pravin Soburrun on 2033825 or Mrs Reshma Napaul on 2032446.

European Countries including UK

Middle East Countries

1.       Albania

1.       Bahrain

2.       Andorra

2.       Egypt

3.       Armenia

3.       Iran

4.       Austria

4.       Iraq

5.       Azerbaijan

5.       Israel

6.       Belarus

6.       Jordan

7.       Belgium

7.       Kuwait

8.       Bosnia and Herzegovina

8.       Lebanon

9.       Bulgaria

9.       Libya

10.    Croatia

10.    Oman

11.    Cyprus

11.    Palestine

12.    Czech Republic

12.    Qatar

13.    Denmark

13.    Saudi Arabia

14.    Estonia

14.    Syria

15.    Finland

15.    Turkey

16.    France

16.    United Arab Emirates

17.    Georgia

17.    Yemen

18.    Germany


19.    Greece


20.    Hungary


21.    Iceland


22.    Ireland


23.    Italy


24.    Kazakhstan


25.    Kosovo


26.    Latvia


27.    Liechtenstein


28.    Lithuania


29.    Luxembourg


30.    Macedonia


31.    Malta


32.    Moldova


33.    Monaco


34.    Montenegro


35.    Netherlands


36.    Norway


37.    Poland


38.    Portugal


39.    Romania


40.    Russia


41.    San Marino


42.    Serbia


43.    Slovakia


44.    Slovenia


45.    Spain


46.    Sweden


47.    Switzerland


48.    Turkey


49.    Ukraine


50.    United Kingdom (UK)


51.    Vatican City